Christmas Gift Ideas

Happy Christmas time everyone.

It is that time of year when our thoughts go to buying our loved ones presents, that is those of us who can afford too. Spare a thought for those who cannot celebrate Christmas with any luxury items. We are blessed. Today I am  being indulgent and listing items for those with spare $$ to spend.I have a heavy heart because of the world situation and the hate and murder going on around the world. We have to celebrate more than ever our lives and family. We are the lucky ones.

Eames bird

I am starting at the top end with a small ornament that caught my eye. A genuine Gold Leaf Eames Bird called The House Bird, every home would love one but they are limited edition and this might be the only one in New Zealand. So hurry.  There are 1000 worldwide. Hand made and designed by the famous chair people Charles & Ray Eames. It is yours from Corso De Fiori in Parnell Auckland for $1949.00 but hurry.

sunhats

Also at Corso De Fiori I noticed a wonderful aray of sun hats. These are mid range in price and they have numerous designs.They have stores in Sydney, Christchurch etc One of my favourite things that I had never seen before were these fabulous tote bags at FABRIC – only $105.00 these leather handled stylish bags would make great gifts.XMAS

HIGH STREET, AUCKLAND CITY & TEED STREET, NEWMARKET.

crystal

I am not big into crystals personally but these make unique gifts for him or her. These I discovered in Nuffield Street Newmarket at Indie Home Collective. There are several Crystal Stones in the range from a pale pink to jet black, beautifully boxed.  Great Zen and Balance or just as a paperweight! from $110.00 – Before I left this beautiful Nuffield Street store in Newmarket I was blown away by the beautiful monochrome horse photos by Pampa, an  Argentinian group. SnipImage (3)

For the young man in your life  8-12 years, or even  for your self, I love these small knives which include a very useful toothpick, scissor, emery board etc.I keep one in my car!! These are limited edition knives from Victorinox and are classic Swiss Army quality $44.99 includes pouch. 8 designs. From Pack & Pedal

knivesknife

I think a magazine subscription would be fabulous especially to this advertising free woman’s magazine from Gordon & Gotch Australia. $60.00 WOMANKIND

 I AM GOING TO PLUG A FEW FAVOURITE BOOKS.

Photos from the book ‘Lake Burton Boat Houses’

LMC-

LMC--2

LMC-8780-Edit-Edit

THE FIRST ONE YOU NEED TO  ORDER ONLINE SO HURRY IF YOU WANT IT FOR CHRISTMAS THE ORDERS TAKE  ABOUT TWO WEEKS FOR A BESPOKE BOOK TO BE PRINTED AND SHIPPED TO NEW ZEALAND.

The above photos relate to the book Lake Burton Boat Houses – it is about the unique and beautiful boat houses on Lake Burton in Georgia USA. A 7 inch square boutique book, “Lake Burton Boat Houses” an ideal gift for anyone with a lake property anywhere in the world, or anyone who likes unique!  It is a gem.   US$46.60 + postage

My second book is my favourite read from 2015 – yes I reviewed it a few months ago here. Definitely my best read of the year. With the world in such a mess I think compulsory reading. A great book for the man in your life.61TxfMDdHwL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

And one more favourite coffee table book – Abandoned Planet. You would need to order this from Amazon – Andre Govia is a friend of mine through the Flick’r photography site. (see my earlier blog about Andre here. )

61uWTsuTu0L._SX493_BO1,204,203,200_

abandoned-childrens-Tuberculosis-sanatorium

I know colouring books are all the rage!! This one is small with a firm cover, great to slip in your handbag! From Gordon Harris Art Supply in Auckland it is under $20.00. They have a huge selection to choose from, so pop in and find one for you and one for a friend or an  ideal gift  for a mature teenager who loves to draw or scribble – They will be flattered you bought them an adult book -ha ha. Colouring book for adults!!

book

Another great gift idea for Aucklanders is a boat trip. 4 hours on the Hauraki Gulf searching for Dolphins and Whales. If nothing sighted a return ticket is issued for another day; now that is a great deal I went out recently and had a beautiful day. Auckland Whale & Dolphin Tours are on our back door and yet many of you have never been out on one of their trips. The day I went we saw 8-10 Orca Whales and numerous Dolphins. Family (2x Adults, 2x Children)     $399* – a great Christmas gift.

Click on blue words for links to websites 🙂

LMC-5335-Edit LMC-5281

In New Zealand we have many great food stores and Farro Fresh is one of them. I saw many products in their store I personally would love to receive for Christmas. This white balsamic is absolutely divine in an omelette, scrambled eggs, mushrooms on toast  or anything  you might use balsamic with, it is worth the $50.00 price tag! The Noble pure genuine maple syrup is $40.00 a large bottle – try this basted over the salmon next time you are cooking up a storm…delicious.maple noble

italian balsalmic(Ignore the alarm on the bottle, shop lifting is rife in these stores!!)

I hope to do another blog about Christmas ideas nearer the big day;  however I wanted this one out in time for you to mail order any requirements.  Enjoy the Festive season and don’t forget to be charitable.

One thought on “Christmas Gift Ideas

  1. Pingback: Unique present ideas | KIWIGRAN – my escapades, my images, my thoughts :)

Leave a Reply

