“Wild Thoughts 2”

 

I’m doing a Blogging 201 course  so I’m writing a weekly blog on anything in my head – watch this space.

seal_v2-03

This weeks blog – “Wild Thoughts 2”

Photography as you all know is my passion…

 

Maybe it is the water in Otago, or the fresh air but I am going to make the outrageous comparison between myself and two other really really really good photographers. One is a video master as I see it. One has the gift of the gab and then there is me!!

I do think growing up on a farm in Central Otago where my father taught me to see has helped me considerably with my photography. By this I mean he taught me to “see”. To see the larks flying hundreds of feet above us singing their hearts out, or the nest in the reeds hidden to most human eyes. A sheep miles away on a ridge; this takes real seeing, not just a glance across a field. Farmers are excellent at seeing, that is what they do!

LMC-9473

 

See how difficult it is to spot a whale on the ocean.

Years later I spent many years sailing and fishing and again looking for bird life and whales in an expansive ocean; one needs to ‘see’, really see.

This prowling leopard was not easy to spot in the sunlight and long grass..LMC-9630-Edit-2

 

A few years ago on safari in Africa I saw two leopards the guide missed; he was impressed with my ‘seeing’ ability. I like to think I bring this to my photography. It might be a face at a window or a bird’s nest, the subjects are endless. I believe to be a good photographer you have to train yourself to see. You also have to see light and understand it. These have no baring on the camera you use, these are your thought processes. These are skills required before you pick up your camera (or phone).

Today I will share a few of my images but more importantly I want you to click on these 2 outstanding photographers links and enjoy two great Otago photographers works.(Otago is a province in New Zealand)

stuck_logo

First up is Trey Ratcliffe. Trey is an American residing in Queenstown. Trey recently had a guest spot on the famous “Ted Talks” show in Queenstown and definitely has the gift of the gab and makes being geeky ‘cool’. He calls himself Awesome!! (I am not going to go that far regards myself) He does run courses annually  and a friend recently attended one and the secret is out, he is a dam good cook too. Watch this You Tube It is fascinating about life as well as photography.   Here is a link to Trey’s excellent blog.

 My second photographer I stumbled upon recently is Richard Sidey who also grew up in Otago and resides there to this day. This vimeo video is one of the most beautiful pieces of New Zealand photography I have seen in some time.  His nature photos on his website are superb.  Here is his website of nature photos however it is his Expedition Vimeo that captured my imagination. Take 2-3 minutes to enjoy.

6

There are other Otago photographers who have inspired me over the years too. Matheson Beaumont, the late Reg Graham and Terry Maguire and earlier in my career the famous( at least in New Zealand) George Chance. Then there are two Internationally recognised nature photographers from Otago whose work I admire, Gary Speer and Craig McKenzie, and no doubt there are others too. It must be the drinking water:)

Here are some of my images to illustrate ‘seeing’. Photo tip for today – Practise seeing and your photography will improve I promise you.

 

Can you see the antelope in this image?

LMC-3623

I’m sure you can see this leopard hiding in the undergrowth?

LMC-7396

Seeing this leopard in the grass above resulted in this photo…

Leopard - Okavango Delta copy copy

How many crocodiles do you see? **

LMC-8887

This porcupine was not easy to see.

LMC-9467

 

First find your leopard than anticipate its movements.

LMC-9621-Edit-Edit-Edit

A few random images from India –

This street scene I call  “Looking at me Looking at You”. I hope you can see the face behind the curtain on the right hand edge?

LMC--40

Hand prints on a wall, most of you  would walk past.

LMC-7959

These wrapped books in an alcove were not seen by the rest of my group.

LMC-7251-Edit-2

Signs also tell a story.

LMC-6588

Finally a cute street scene  in rural Rajasthan.

LMC-6066

So  please practise “SEEING” and discover the world as a photographer sees it … your will open up a whole new world, it just takes time.

African monochrome fine art prints available on request lynnmc46@gmail.com

 ** Incidentally there were 4 crocodiles in that image.

7 thoughts on ““Wild Thoughts 2”

  1. IiNTERESTING THOUGHTS LYNN – THESE WELL TRAINED OTAGO EYES SPOTTED 4 CROCS!! I COULDN’T OPEN ANY OF THE WEBSITES OVER HERE. YOU NEED TO COME TO BURMA BEFORE IT BECOMES TOO WESTERNISED XX

      • No – I do not believe so – we know Michael Sidey – and his brother Peter – they used to bike out to Morris Mains in their school holidays,as they had a holiday house in Wanaka – Emmie & Lin knew the parents
        well – but I am sure Richard must be a relative.

Leave a Reply

